snacks

It’s surprising how many people think that having snacks when you’re trying to lose weight is wrong.

In fact, it’s better to eat several times a day rather than go hungry and only eat 2 or 3 big meals.

Firstly, it helps us maintain our metabolism.

Unfortunately, skipping meals is a sure way to make it even harder to lose weight. Not only do we need to consume a minimum of 12001400 Calories per day, we also need to eat regularly. Fewer calories or too long between meals and our body goes into what they call “starvation mode”.

So, having something small but filling every 23 hours is ideal.

Secondly, I find eating snacks helps me to control my portion sizes at lunch and dinner. Otherwise, I’m famished when the main meal is served and shovel in more than I need.

And finally, it’s more important what you eat as your snack. My favourites used to be lollies or chocolate. And Coke. Now, I much prefer either:

1. An egg | a small meal in itself. It’s easy to hard-boil a few in advance and store them in the fridge. And so much cheaper than buying processed food.

2. Fruit | vitamins & fibre all wrapped up in a convenient, easy-to-carry package.

3. Nuts | provided you don’t have too many, they’re a great source of protein, healthy fats and other nutrients. I try to eat a variety as each has one different benefits e.g. almonds are high in calcium.

If I must eat something from a shop I will check the label (if possible). Many brands of plain chips or pretzels, for example, are relatively low in sugar; a good option if you’re going to see a movie perhaps?

Kim | 78.1

12 thoughts on “snacks

  1. When you are eating to your appetite at every meal, and eating plenty of fat and no sugar, you’ll find that you’ll go four hours between meals without the need for snacking. In fact, the meal stays in your stomach for that long. So you shouldn’t add anything extra to your digesting meal.
    I used to have to eat every two hours when I was doing low fat and calorie counting.

  2. Interesting. Thanks Nadine. I didn’t realise a meal took that long to digest. Would it not depend on how big the meal was?

    Perhaps snacking is as much a result of old habits or simply out of boredom than a response to real hunger. I will pay closer attention to what my body is telling me.

    Kim*

  3. Pingback: replace | 100 days 100 ways

  4. Pingback: Bodytrim | 100 days 100 ways

  5. Pingback: anzac day | 100 days 100 ways

  6. Pingback: dessert | 100 days 100 ways

  7. Pingback: boredom | 100 days 100 ways

  8. Pingback: dairy | 100 days 100 ways

  9. Pingback: iced coffee | 100 days 100 ways

  10. Pingback: vending machines « travel blog

  11. Pingback: binge | 100 days 100 ways

  12. Pingback: snacks: a gift from God? | 100 days 100 ways

please let me know your thoughts

