gym

There’s a lot to be said for going to the gym.

Resistance training provides the opportunity to build lean muscle tissue which in turn helps you maintain a higher metabolism thereby burning more fat throughout the day.

And, being surrounded by like-minded individuals and trainers can be a terrific motivation.

But do you really need to spend all that money on a gym membership?

My personal experience has been that I join-up to a gym, committed for one year, bubbling with enthusiasm and plenty of good intentions. But, when push-comes-to-shove, I find it hard to actually make the time to fit a regular gym session into my work day.

And, do I really need to have access to all of that shiny, hi-tech equipment if all I want to do is lose some weight and get a little fitter?

After all, there are many exercises that can be performed in the comfort of your own home, or better still outdoors, without the use of any of fancy machines or dumb-bells.

I was reading an interesting online-article yesterday in the SMH called “the great fitness rort” that reinforced this thinking: that we don’t need all the bells-and-whistles to have a great workout.

As the article explains, the following exercises require very little in the way of formal equipment:

1. Squats | fantastic for the leg muscles including quads, hamstrings, calves and glutes.

2. Burpees | old-fashioned but effective, they defintely take me back to my childhood.

3. Pull-ups | you’ll probably need to find some playground equipment but they’re ideal for upper body strength.

4. Jump rope | skipping is a lot harder than you think and is an excellent form of “cardio”.

5. Push-ups | the classic yet straight-forward upper body bench-press working the chest, shoulders, biceps and triceps.

Do them in that order and limit the number of workouts to just one or two a week will give your muscles plenty of time to recover.

Kim | 78.3

9 thoughts on “gym

  1. This is exactly my line of thinking right now. I recently quit the gym actually. I will probably write a little bit more about what I’m doing on my blog. I tend to put more healthy recipes on my blog, but would like to get into having more “exercise” type of articles. I only have one right now. Anyhoo, those are the types of exercises that I’m doing at home.

  2. Pingback: mowing | 100 days 100 ways

  3. Pingback: pasta | 100 days 100 ways

  4. I totally agree with what you’re saying here – there’s a lot you can do without any equipment in your own home. You don’t *have* to go to the gym! But if you enjoy the gym, there’s plenty of stuff there that the Average Joe might not find at home (group sessions, personal support, etc).

    Personally, I try to exercise at home when I can, but being at the gym gets me “in the zone”. Try not to discount the gym too quickly -There are benefits to both!

  5. You’re quite right. The gym is definitely a valid form of exercise. I guess I was just trying to say that I always find it hard to make it there and instead prefer going for a run in the morning.

    But for many the weights, the machines, the classes, the motivation etc help them do what they need to do.

    Thank you for your constructive feedback. Kim*

  6. Pingback: jumping rope | 100 days 100 ways

  7. Pingback: outdoor exercise | 100 days 100 ways

  8. Pingback: walking | in darkness or in the light? | 100 days 100 ways

please let me know your thoughts

