discipline

“For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11 (ESV)

Discipline involves establishing some kind of goal.

Anticipating obstacles.

And having a few alternatives up your sleeve when things don’t go quite to plan.

I feel like I’ve been very diligent with a number of things. Posting blog entries every day as I said I would (although I almost missed tonight).

Walking almost every day and running three days per week.

Eating healthy food where ever possible.

But I haven’t been perfect.

For example, tonight I drank a few glasses of wine. And it’s not the first time this has happened since I started this journey. Mind you, I managed to go two months without drinking any alcohol.

Also, on a few occasions, I have eaten a dessert containing sugar.

It’s a hard thing to do. Resisting the temptation is not that big a deal. It’s more the fact that I feel rude not eating something that has been made especially for dinner.

I don’t feel terribly guilty. I have had an excellent week. Eating well and losing weight steadily.

And I suppose I saw this as my night off.

But I do wonder sometimes at how those athletes do it who train day-in and day-out for something like the Olympic Games.

Boy! Does that take discipline or what?

Is there anything in particular you struggle with to remain disciplined? Or perhaps you have a strategy worth sharing?

Kim | 76.4

7 thoughts on “discipline

  1. I tried to discipline myself to be a part of the Paleo world, which is very!! strict. I couldn’t do it and ended up going backwards. I came to the conclusion that I need moderation and I need treats. But, I do have to work on being disciplined in a way where I have to make sure it’s ONLY in moderation. Didn’t I hear one glass of red wine a day is good for you. ; ). Enjoy!

  2. I definitely struggle daily to be more disciplined in every aspect of my life. My first set goal since I started my blog was not to barf and I have been successful so far! What came next? Exercising every day… and I’m getting there, maybe I don’t exercise 7 days a week, but I’m doing it 5 times at least. With food related discipline, I haven’t been successful: I like it way too much and it’s what has been stopping me from shedding the extra pounds I carry on my body. I’m still working on it though, I believe the mind is the main driving force in discipline.
    Keep up! You’re doing amazing! πŸ™‚

  3. I need treats too. I just try to make them relatively healthy treats these days. For example, I find fruit a sufficient “sweet treat”. And if I go to the movies, a packet of plain chips is OK as it is low in sugar.

    In the last couple of weeks I’ve also had a few glasses of wine when friends are over for dinner. But then I avoid alcohol mid-week. So yes, it can be nice to reward yourself with treats. But if you’re serious about losing weight then all those little extras add up and make it quite hard to stick to your guns.

    The biggest no-no is sugar. If you can avoid it like the plague then there are plenty of yummy things out there without it. And they taste so much better when you’re not hooked on sugar πŸ˜‰ Kim*

  4. You don’t need to “exercise” every day. I make it a point to try and walk every day and run 3 days per week. I may get up to 4-5 days of exercise soon but I will try to do something other than running for one or two of those days as our bodies also need to rest & recuperate.

    So, well done on your own discipline! The mind is a powerful thing but we need positive reinforcement to confirm we’re on the right track, be that from the scales or from friends & family.

    As for food? I love it too. In fact, I love it more now that I have given up sugar. That’s not to say I never have a small piece of pie when it’s baked by my mother. Or a bowl of dessert when friends have gone to a lot of trouble to prepare it as part of a dinner.

    But I no longer snack on chocolate & lollies (candy). And soft drink is completely out of the picture!

    Good luck and I look forward to seeing more of your posts πŸ™‚ Kim*

  5. Pingback: phases | 100 days 100 ways

  6. Pingback: binge | 100 days 100 ways

  7. Pingback: weigh-in | week 25 | 100 days 100 ways

please let me know your thoughts

