habits

Old habits die hard. Isn’t that what they say?

And I think there’s quite a lot of truth in it.

After all, I’ve experienced it myself. The almost trance-like way I do the same thing day-in, day-out despite knowing it’s not particularly good for me.

Such as when I used to buy an iced-coffee milk and a croissant for breakfast if I was in a hurry.

Or purchasing a frozen Coke, a packet of Twisties and a chocolate Magnum ice cream at the movies. Regardless of whether I actually felt hungry or not.

These habits were triggered by recurring situations or circumstances. But because they were so ingrained into my psyche it took a very strong determination on my part to break the cycle of constantly reacting to temptation.

But in doing so it also became necessary to replace them with something else.

However, it can take quite a while to turn-the-tide. And it’s all too easy to slip back a little every now and again.

Staying the course is easier said than done!

So, as I mentioned yesterday, I now drink real coffee with no sugar in the morning.

And I take my own water to the movies choosing to only buy a packet of plain chips as a treat.

Yet, I’ve also added some completely new habits such as walking every day and running every other day.

What are your bad habits that you just can’t seem to shake? Or have you managed to replace them with a healthier alternative and if so, what?

Kim | 76.2

12 thoughts on “habits

  1. I’m trying to get rid of living every day as if I were asleep, waiting for life to pass by, instead of actively affecting it. That is a habit I’ve had since I was 17 (I’m 24) and I am taking it day by day… the truth is, many times I become desperate and just wanna quit, but I keep thriving to change my energy.
    Loved this post!

  2. Thanks. Yes, sometimes is is simply a matter of taking it “one day at a time”. I’m very fortunate that I’m naturally quite positive and full of energy. But I used to find that the consumption of sugar would leave me feeling down and irritable after the initial high. That’s all changed now and I’m loving it! Kim*

  3. I think you’ve hit the nail right on the head – a lot of what we find ourselves doing is out of habit. Not that all habits are bad!!

  4. Pingback: binge | 100 days 100 ways

  5. Pingback: confession | 100 days 100 ways

  6. Pingback: 1st blogthday | 100 days 100 ways

  7. Pingback: growth | 100 days 100 ways

  8. Pingback: dry july | 100 days 100 ways

  9. Pingback: the “I Quit Sugar” ebook | 100 days 100 ways

  10. Pingback: the planets have aligned | 100 days 100 ways

  11. Pingback: going cold-turkey for Thanksgiving | 100 days 100 ways

please let me know your thoughts

