phases

When I started this journey I was thinking in terms of 3 distinct phases.

The first phase was a period of denial & abstinence.

The idea was to purge my system of any craving whatsoever for carbohydrates, especially sugar. Removing alcohol from the diet was also thrown in for good measure.

Goals were set. A plan was established. The battle-lines were drawn!

After all, this intense week-long detox can potentially see a very rapid weight-loss. For some, as much as 5kg.

Of course, most of that would be water, but that’s all in the fine-print. There’s no need to get caught up in the detail.

This led into the second phase where my diet was strictly monitored & measured. Calories were counted. Meals were portioned. Fat was all but eliminated. The focus was diligence & discipline.

Better to starve and punish myself with gruelling exercise than suffer a weigh-in where the magic number, heaven forbid, actually goes up!

Once the final goal weight is reached I can then move into the third and final stage.

Bliss. Utopia. Heaven. Where everything that I’ve been promised and more awaits me.

An eternity of maintenance. Where nothing is taboo as long as it’s in moderation.

I’m allowed to relax. To let my hair down. To return to the real world albeit still under the watchful eye of my sponsor.

Because any sign of slipping back will see me “on the wagon” quicker than you can say “rehab”. Returning me to phase 2 like it’s a game of snakes & ladders as penance for my sins until they’re completely absolved.

Many of you may recognise this method of weight-loss as atypical of many, if not most, weight-loss programs on the market today.

Sadly, they’re designed to help you lose it but not to keep it off forever.

They’re in a business that needs us to keep coming back for more once we return to our bad old ways.

And they know we will. Mark my words!

Fortunately, I managed to avoid the same old, same old because I saw the light early on in the piece.

Unfortunately, for many others, study after study after study shows that when we go “on a diet” we may initially lose a heap of weight.

But when we are reweighed a year later we have, on average, managed to put most of it back on. Many of us actually gain a lot more weight.

I know because I have tried all of those listed below:

Jenny Craig. Weight Watchers. Lite n’ Easy. The Biggest Loser Club.

And in every single case I ended up right where I began. Plus some.

This is not to say they don’t work for many people. I’m sure they do.

I saw someone recently who was looking great after having been on Weight Watchers. All I can say to them is well done.

And beware.

Because they don’t work for most of us.

Yet if we think it’s OK to keep eating chocolate & lollies & fast food and drinking soft drink like it’s going out of fashion then we will pile it all back on.

Sorry. It’s reality.

And no one likes to hear it. Because they think they deserve the white stuff like its some privilege that shouldn’t be denied them.

If that’s you then please “wake up and smell the roses”.

Because it’s doing you more harm than just packing on a few pounds. It’s killing you in many, many other ways.

But enough of my ranting.

I welcome your feedback and opinions, for and against, as my voice is surely not the only one in the wilderness.

Kim | 77.6

4 thoughts on “phases

  1. I totally agree on the dieting. Ever since I was really young, I had been on a diet. I had my last diet over a year ago and I didn’t manage to lose much weight but I did gain a considerable amount of it!!! I haven’t lost it yet and I truly believe that in order for significant changes to happen, I have to change our lifestyle forever, not only for a little dieting while. I think dieting wasn’t really good for my mind either, it created a lot of anxiety and disappointment. I’m still in the process of losing weight slowly but definitely. Nice post!

  2. Thanks. Yes, we do put too much pressure on ourselves when we “diet”. Better to find a balance and eat healthy food all the time. Or as much as possible.

    Avoiding “crap” as much as possible yet recognising that if and when we do eat poorly that it’s just a blip on the radar and we can simply get back on track the next day.

    Don’t you just love a fresh start each day?

    I find it’s great for clearing the mind and replenishing the soul!

    Kim*

  3. This is so true! Unless you commit and follow through forever you must think about this (and in many cases limit yourself) daily. Unless it fits into your life seamlessly it will always be an effort or habit to change. I have fallen off the wagon and am close to where I started and it SUCKS! But I know why, and what I need to do so I suppose it’s just accepting that I will always need to have this top of my mind, and will never reach a stage where I can freely consume what I want and be a couch potato too unless I want to gain weight. Some people don’t need to try, they just don’t gain weight. Others-like me-need to accept our tendency to gain weight through low activity and casual food choices.

  4. I think we all “fall of the wagon” from time-to-time no matter how committed we are. The distractions of life; an event that has us “breaking the rules just this once”; or perhaps we become complacent because we have achieved a “satisfactory” outcome.

    But I firmly believe the two critical, life-changing decisions of 1. giving up sugar, and 2. exercising regularly, should always remain a priority in our day-to-day behaviour.

    This doesn’t mean you will never eat another chocolate again or fail to miss a gym class because you’re too exhausted to even think let alone sweat.

    Yet it will mean making wise choices whenever possible. And doing so more often than not.

    Thanks for your input. It’s much appreciated. Kim*

please let me know your thoughts

