pasta

Pasta and noodles are the not unlike rice and bread. A basic, staple food that forms a large part of the diet of many cultures.

One of the things I loved about our recent trip to Italy was the wealth and variety of pasta dishes.

Lasagne. Spaghetti. Ravioli. Tagliatelle. Tortellini. Cannelloni. Penne. Rigatoni. Fusilli. Farfalle. Linguini. Fettuccine.

And this list is by no means exhaustive.

Whilst we in Australia have inherited a lot from our many Italian immigrants, nobody does it quite like they do in the home country.

At least that’s what I thought until I came to Tokyo.

From what I’ve learned in the short time I’ve been here, the Japanese approach to cooking is a tireless dedication to perfection. A balancing of ingredients and techniques that is applied equally to their own cuisine as it is to that from foreign lands.

That’s why I was pleasantly surprised to recently discover a great Italian restaurant in the heart of Azabu-jūban where I’m living.

Their food is not only magnificent but it’s very well-priced at lunchtime.

But what concerns me is there’s a lot of talk these days about losing weight by cutting out certain foods.

My whole premise in writing this blog is that nothing is off-limits. Except sugar.

Despite the current fad of high-protein, low-fat, low-carbohydrates diets, I believe it’s not only unnecessary but it’s unhealthy.

And by taking the plunge and doing it the way I have, I hope I’ve proven to quite a few people that carbohydrates are not your enemy. It’s a load of hogwash.

Our bodies need all-of-the-above.

What they don’t need is processed crap.

But even then, you can really get away with the occasional bit of fast food and dessert if you’re simply diligent about the whole added-sugar thing.

Seriously. It’s really that simple.

No need for fancy gym memberships. No need to join a weight-loss program. No need to count calories.

Just the commitment to give up sugar once-and-for-all.

If you can do that the rest is easy.

As for pasta? I plan to keep enjoying it for many, many years to come.

Buon appetito!

Kim | 75.4

please let me know your thoughts

