binge

I had never really thought about my behaviour to this extent before but, to be perfectly honest, I definitely had times when I would binge on junk food.

It would usually start with an iced-coffee milk first thing in the morning.

Yet that initial “hit” of sugar would then have me looking for my next “fix” like any addict.

Once at work a Coke from the fridge early in the day may lead to two or three cans all-up once the day was done.

Biscuits were an easy target between meals. As was chocolate.

Lunch might be a meal-deal from one of the fast food chains: McDonalds. KFC. Hungry Jacks.

But rather than stop there, I would also grab a bag of lollies for later on. That’s how strong the urge to consume sugar was.

By the end of the day I was probably feeling a little grumpy as my appetite had not been satisfied because the fructose was not recognised by my body as calories consumed.

So it was no wonder that I gradually, over time, put on weight.

The reason I’m being so open-and-honest is because I know many others experience this. I’m not alone.

One blogger has been an inspiration to me in her candidness with dealing with years of Bulimia.

I don’t begin to claim to know what it’s like to suffer the need to binge to that extent.

But nevertheless, my sugar addiction was just that: an addiction.

And when I ate it I often did to excess.

Despite some so-called experts trying to deny the addictive nature of sugar, the fact is that I could never break the habit until I went cold-turkey: effectively detoxing my body from all that excess fructose.

I’m sure plenty of people have no problem resisting the temptation of sugar.

But if the idea of giving it up for a week or two makes you shudder then perhaps that’s exactly what you need to do.

It does take a certain mind-set. A dogged, disciplined determination to steer clear from it for a fixed period of time.

To accept the challenge because that’s exactly what it is.

No exceptions. No compromises. No short-cuts.

Think long and hard about any bad eating habits you may have and write them down.

Then think about a good habit you can replace it with.

For example, you may start the day with a glass of fruit juice. Swap it for an actual piece of fruit.

If you’re heading somewhere like the movies knowing this will trigger bad decisions, then perhaps it’s best to skip the cinema for the next two weeks.

If you know that boredom easily leads to needless snacking on chocolate then recognise that and find substitutes that are fructose-free.

If you’re going to be at a dinner with friends you should tell them you’re skipping sugar. Let them support and encourage you rather than insisting you eat the dessert.

And if alcohol weakens your willpower then eliminate it from your diet for the next two weeks too.

Whatever it takes to make a clean break. And planning ahead will make it so much easier.

Such as thinking about and organising replacements for snacks well in-advance. I find boiling a few eggs and packing one with some nuts for later works well.

Once you break the cycle it’s surprisingly easy. Making a fresh start is the hardest part.

So what have you got to lose? Besides a few excess pounds?

Just do it!

Kim | 74.3

2 thoughts on “binge

  1. You are also an inspiration to me, Kim!!! :D. I do feel extremely nervous and anxious to think about going cold turkey, but all of this info concerning sugar totally makes sense to me! I’m sure sugar has had a lot to do with my eating disorder, and the mere fact of cutting it off terrifies me! Do you get like withdrawal symptoms without sugar? I’m very curious, I think I should just do it! :S..

  2. If going cold-turkey makes you feel anxious then I suggest first trying to slowly ween yourself of sugar.

    Determine what the main culprits are and select one to remove from your diet each week e.g cut out soft drink week-1, chocolate week-2, candy week-3, fast food week-4 etc.

    This will probably help to lessen the withdrawal symptoms which differ for person-to-person, most likely because of how much sugar we consume.

    They’re generally not severe but I think the first time I did it I felt sick like I had a stomach bug. It lasted a couple of days and then I was fine. Kim*

please let me know your thoughts

