born on the fourth of july

The soundtrack from the movie is hauntingly beautiful and incredibly sobering. So I thought it appropriate to mention it on today’s date.

Its tag line was:

“A story about innocence lost and courage found.”

Interestingly, Tom Cruise garnered his first Academy Award nomination for Best Actor and Oliver Stone won Best Director. The movie was also nominated for several other Oscars including Best Picture.

I remember the album because my brother purchased it. I thought it odd at the time but the more I listened to it, the more it grew on me.

I find the music quite emotional. Perhaps it’s because of past associations. Or maybe it’s just the way it’s composed.

But I consider it one of my all-time favourite soundtracks bringing back countless memories from the late 1980s and early 1990s.

All credit should go to John Williams who was the mastermind behind the orchestral aspects of the album.

Kim | 73.8

please let me know your thoughts

