rest

“And on the seventh day God finished his work that he had done, and he rested on the seventh day from all his work that he had done. So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all his work that he had done in creation.” Genesis 2:2-3 (ESV)

Since I’m trying to avoid injury, I’m going to start by talking about rest. Many programs begin with a detailed plan of what to do each day, emphasising the different types of runs.

Yet rest is often the most overlooked aspect of exercise as we’re keen to do too much too soon.

We’re made to rest. To take a breather. To chill out and enjoy all that there is.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 (ESV)

It allows our muscles and other soft tissue to repair and grow and our mind to take a break from the routine of everyday life. The stresses and concerns that life and we place on ourselves.

That’s why when I started my program I vowed to not overtrain.

This meant scheduling in a rest day between each run.

It’s OK to walk on my rest day. Or cycle or swim. But more on cross-training another time.

What I avoid is strenuous physical exercise.

Now that I’m running 4x a week my rest day comes after the three shorter runs as they will become the hard-workout sessions later on, with an easy recovery run the day after my LSD (long slow distance) run.

This seems to be working well so far.

But I will monitor it carefully and back off if it feels like it’s too much.

One respected website recommends a rest week every 36 weeks where you reduce your overall mileage by about 1/3. They consider this critical as it provides your body with the time to recover.

Sounds like good advice to me.

So my motto is: “less is more”.

Kim | 71.6

4 thoughts on “rest

  1. Pingback: chi marathon | 100 days 100 ways

  2. Pingback: My Fuji | preparation | travel photography

  3. Pingback: cadence | 100 days 100 ways

  4. Pingback: garmin forerunner 620 | 100 days 100 ways

please let me know your thoughts

