1st blogthday

One year ago today this little baby was born. Happy Blogthday!

20130306-205705.jpg

image credit: graphics factory

At the time, my purpose was to “share my experiences over the next 100 days as I embark upon a journey to lose a significant amount of weight“.

Well, if you followed along, you would know that I achieved my goal, although it took more time than the envisaged 100 days. But that’s OK.

Early on I recognised that “losing weight is 3 parts food, 2 parts mental and 1 part physical.”

So, with this in mind, I’m going to pick my favourite 3, 2 & 1 posts from each:

food

1. First and foremost is the need to cut added sugar from your diet. Specifically fructose. There’s no two ways about it: it’s poison!

2. Secondly, increase consumption of something as basic as water. It’s usually free. And it’s surprisingly healthy!

3. Finally, start the day with a nutritious breakfast cereal using my recipe for Bircher Muesli. A perfect balance of protein, fat & carbohydrate, through a combination of oats, nuts, seeds, fruit & dairy, thereby providing long-lasting energy and, very importantly, dietary fibre.

This last “favourite” cheats a little as it covers several posts. I hope you don’t mind too much.

mental

1. Its crucial that you break your bad old habits and replace them with good new ones.

2. And remember that it takes time and thus loads of patience.

physical

1. I’ve long been of the opinion that exercise, whilst helpful, is not a crucial part of the process. Yes, it can be beneficial to do something. And the easiest option is, in my humble opinion, to simply get out there and do some good-ol’-fashion walking.

There you have it.

In a nutshell, the basics of how to lose weight. It’s weel worth the effort.

Good luck!

Now time to party. Let’s celebrate!

Kim | marathon runner

6 thoughts on “1st blogthday

  1. Happy Blogthday!!!!
    I love your input on weight-loss. I totally agree with you on the mental/physical/food combo. I think exercise keeps me sane, feeling joyous, grateful of my body’s capabilities and overall healthy. Food definitely is a large part of it, that is where I tend to fail, but it is connected directly to the mind, so I need to work on that.
    Congrats on the goal-achievement.

  2. Thank you. I appreciate all your comments over the past year. You have been an inspiration and an encouragement. Kim*

  3. Thank you. Yeah, normally getting old is something we don’t look forward to but in this case I don’t mind the wrinkles too much. Kim*

please let me know your thoughts

